Tags

, , ,

Some people say that the purpose of life is the pursuit of happiness and that the ultimate end to living is happiness. It’s not that I don’t agree with them in a way, I just find the pursuit part so weird.

It’s weird how you’re happy at one point with one thing but that happiness makes you want more and more. For example, you get a bite of chocolate or cake or whatever floats your boat from a friend and it tastes so good that you want the whole thing. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to be happy but sometimes your friend can’t give you the whole chocolate or whatever because it’s already finished or it’s his/her breakfast. In other words, you get something that makes you happy and whatever made you happy makes you want more of it and then you either get more of it or you don’t. I find it weird how the pursuit to happiness seemingly never ends. We all try to be satisfied with what we have because people say that it is the key to being happy, but sometimes we just can’t help wanting something. It’s human nature.

I guess the end to the pursuit of happiness lies within oneself: you either don’t mind it or it makes you sad.

Now, why am I writing about this? I left my boyfriend of nearly two years about three weeks ago because it was a long distance relationship and a lot of things happened. He made me so so so¬†happy in the beginning of our relationship, but it didn’t last for me. I guess I wanted more than he could give. I decided to break up with him one happy day (for me). I was so happy that day because I did well in my exams and because I have this happy, shallow crush on a classmate. I know it won’t go anywhere, but those things made me happier than him. I’ve recently made up with my best friend who I’ve fought with for about three years, too. And I feel like I exchanged him for all of these. Maybe happiness is a choice you make. I wonder if I chose the right one.

Happiness is a choice you make.

